Who needs an E-visa for Vietnam

An electronic visa (E-visa) is a type of visa issued to foreigners by the Vietnamese Immigration Department via an electronic system. A Vietnam E-visa is a single entry visa which allows the bearer to stay within Vietnam for a maximum of 90 consecutive days.

Why e-visa?
  • No need to visit embassy or consulate
  • Travelers with E-visas to Vietnam may enter Vietnam via one of 28 international checkpoints
  • Visiting an embassy is not required
  • The whole procedure is online – once your application has been approved, all you have to do is print your E-visa and show it at the airport. That’s all!

Eligible countries

Currently, nationals of all countries in the world are eligible for Vietnam e-Visa. No matter your nationality, you may apply for one of the following visa types:

  • a single-entry visa for 90 days
  • a multiple-entry visa for 90 days

  • E-Visa holders can enter and exit Vietnam through any one of these 28 international checkpoints:

    International airports:
    • Cat Bi International Airport (Hai Phong)
    • Cam Ranh International Airport (Khanh Hoa)
    • Can Tho International Airport
    • Da Nang International Airport
    • Noi Bai International Airport (Ha Noi)
    • Phu Bai International Airport
    • Phu Quoc International Airport
    • Tan Son Nhat International Airport (Ho Chi Minh City)

    Border crossings:
    • Bo Y
    • Cha Lo
    • Cau Treo
    • Huu Nghi
    • Ha Tien
    • Lao Bao
    • Lao Cai
    • Moc Bai
    • Mong Cai
    • Nam Can
    • Song Tien
    • Tinh Bien
    • Xa Mat
    • La Lay Landport
    • Na Meo Landport
    • Tay Trang Landport

    • Cửa khẩu Cảng Đà Nẵng Da Nang Seaport
    • Hon Gai Seaport
    • Hai Phong Seaport
    • Nha Trang Seaport
    • Quy Nhon Seaport
    • Ho Chi Minh City Seaport
    • Vung Tau Seaport
    • Chan May Seaport
    • Duong Dong Seaport
    • Cam Pha Seaport
    • Nghi Son Seaport
    • Vung Ang Seaport

    According to Vietnamese law, your E-visa expiry date must be at least 30 days before the expiry date on your passport. E-visa holders must present their printed E-visa and valid passport at the checkpoint.

    E-visa requirements

    Two documents must be included in the application form:
    • Portrait photo: The photo should capture full face, front view, with eyes open.
    • Passport bio-data page: Full biometric passport page, including photo and personal information.
    Holders of valid passports issued by the countries listed below do not require visas for Vietnam:

    Chile – Travelers may stay up to 90 days without a visa
    Cambodia, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand – travelers may stay up to 30 days without a visa
    Philippines – Travelers may stay up to 21 days without a visa (travelers who intend to stay for more than 21 days must apply for an E-visa)
    Brunei, Myanmar – Travelers may stay up to 14 days without a visa (travelers who intend to stay for more than 14 days must apply for an E-visa)
    Belarus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Norway, Russia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom –Travelers may stay up to 15 days without a visa. However, 15-day visa-free stay is permitted only in cases where there is a gap of at least 30 days between two visa-free visits. All travelers must carry a printout of an onward ticket. In all other cases, an E-visa is required.